2015 El Cajon Citizen of the Year named

June 17, 2024 – Our town took a magical trip down memory lane today. The Model T Ford Club of America rolled into town for their 2024 National Tour. 

Dozens of these magnificent Model T’s lined our streets. It felt like stepping back in time.

The visitors took a stroll through our town’s rich history, from the old Lakeside Inn, the Auto Speedway route, made famous by racing legend Barney Oldfield, to our charming historic buildings and homes.

The Lakeside Historical Society opened their doors, welcoming everyone to explore the chapel, museum, Gift Shop, and the Speedway monument. It was a little slice of the past brought back to life.

Their visit was short, but the memories will last a lifetime. A huge thank you to the Model T Ford Club of America for stopping by and making the day in our hometown so special.

Cabrera,Humbert_1 croppedThe El Cajon Citizen of the Year Committee has selected Humbert Cabrera, founder of Cabrera and Associates, Inc. of El Cajon, a design and drafting firm, as its 2015 El Cajon Citizen of the Year. Cabrera will be honored at a luncheon on Monday, Feb. 1 at the Elks Lodge #1812, 1400 E. Washington Ave., El Cajon. The luncheon event is scheduled to run from noon to 2:30 p.m. Cost to attend is $18 per person. To RSVP, visit www.eastcountychamber.org or call (619) 440-6161.

According to Earlene Hollmichel, Citizen of the Year Committee chair, Cabrera is being honored for his leadership in several community organizations, including serving as the El Cajon Rotary Club’s 2015 president and as a board member of The Salvation Army of El Cajon and Community Action Service Advocacy (CASA). He also is a member of the El Cajon Elks Club #1812, Latino-American Political Association and San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce. He also supports such charities as St. Madeleine Sophie’s Center, Home of Guiding Hands, East County Posse and One Thousand Smiles. His firm provides architectural drawings, permits, and energy compliance green standards for a variety of projects, including custom residences, tract homes, apartments, condos, church buildings, additions, tenant improvements, environmental designs and code enforcement projects. 

Other nominees for this year’s award included Richard Campbell, George Clover, Alison Cummings, Joe Garzanelli, Dick Nasif, Steve W. Roberts and Randy Young. Among the local organizations that participated in the selection process: San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce, El Cajon Police Officer Association, Heartland Lions, Home of Guiding Hands, Salvation Army, El Cajon Valley Kiwanis Club, East County Boys and Girls Clubs, Wieghorst Museum Foundation, El Cajon Historical Society, Main Street Flag program, El Cajon Valley Host Lions Club and Rotary Club of El Cajon.

The annual Citizen of the Year program is co-hosted by the El Cajon Valley Lions Club, El Cajon Rotary Club and San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce. Recent previous winners have included Chuck Hansen (2014), San Diego East Visitors Bureau, and Shirley Johnson (2013), founder of El Cajon Concerned Citizens, a citizens group that addresses community safety concerns.